Local Government

Fairview is governed under the Borough form of New Jersey municipal government. The government consists of a Mayor and a Borough Council comprising six council members, with all positions elected at large. A Mayor is elected directly by the voters to a four-year term of office and only votes to break a tie. The Borough Council consists of six members elected to serve three-year terms on a staggered basis, with two seats coming up for election each year.


Federal, State and County Representation

Fairview is in the Eight Congressional District and is part of New Jersey's 32nd Legislative District.

New Jersey's Eight Congressional District is represented by Albio Sires (D). New Jersey is represented in the United States Senate by Cory Booker (D) and Bob Menendez (D).

The 32nd District is represented in the New Jersey Senate by Nicholas Sacco (D, North Bergen) and in the New Jersey General Assembly by Vincent Prieto (D, Secaucus) and Angelica M. Jimenez (D West New York). The Governor of New Jersey is Philip Murphy (D). The Lieutenant Governor of New Jersey is Sheila Oliver (D).

The Board of Chosen Freeholders is the county's legislative body and its seven members are elected at-large on a staggered basis, with two or three seats coming up for election each year.


Upcoming Events